Monday, February 25, 2008


All challenged in Tawau except Ghapur


Barisan Nasional (BN) candidate Datuk Abd Ghapur Salleh won the Kalabakan parliamentary seat unopposed again yesterday but the other coalition candidates are challenged. Incumbent Merotai assemblyman Datuk Liew Yun Fah who was dropped and rumoured to be standing as an independent candidate in the area, threw his support to the BN candidates yesterday. “I won the Kalabakan parliament seat because I have carried out many developments in the area. Here, I need to remind the voters again, especially in Kalabakan, to vote for the BN if they wish to live comfortably with more development. “The concept of BN is cooperation, but those who go against the laws and regulations will be rejected from Umno. I hope I can bring the new BN candidates to have a visit to Kalabakan and introduce them to the residents there,” said Ghapur. The 65-year-old Umno veteran who arrived at the nomination centre with his proposer Ramlee Bin Rasida @ Rashida and supporter Apor Bin Hajari at 9. 10am, was also unopposed in Kalabakan in the last general election in 2004. The Merotai state seat is a five- cornered fight for BN candidate Pang Yuk Ming, 42, who is challenged by Mohamad B Tingka, 55, of PAS and three independents- Salman Bin Nurillah, 40, who is using the key symbol, Moktar B Ahmad, 48, (umbrella) and Soon Thien Fook, 57 (oil palm trees). Pang, who was the communication secretary for his predecessor Datuk Liew Yun Fahwas proposed by Ahmad @ Jepang B Tapah and supported by Thein Kui Sang. They arrived at the nomination hall at 9. 12am. Expressing his surprise over his nomination, the BN contestant said he would try his best to serve the residents in Tawau if he wins the seat even though he has many businesses in Kota Kinabalu. Soon, who resigned from Liberal Democratic Party (LDP) to be an independent candidate, disagreed that Liew was not selected to defend the Merotai seat. “I decided to resign from LDP to become an independent candidate for Merotai seat even though Datuk Liew had disallowed me to do so. However, I feel very confident,” said Soon who was accompanied by his proposer Dumit B Rasit and supporter Anas Bin Hemma to the nomination centre at 9.05am. The Tanjung Batu state seat will be a battle ground for four candidates. BN candidate Datuk Hamisa Bte Samat, 59 is facing PKR’s Dullah Bin Hashim, also 59, and two independent candidates- Mohammad Jeffry B Rosman, 34, (clock symbol) and Dasun Bin Sumbin, 57 (aeroplane). The Sebatik state seat is contested by Abd Muis B Picho, 51, of BN and Arsad bin Jamal, 58, of PKR and independent Raden Bin Kakung, 48, who is using the smoking pipe symbol. For the Tawau parliamentary seat, Datuk Chua Soon Bui of BN is taking on Chan Foong Hin of DAP and Berhan Ruslan of PKR. The Sri Tanjong state seat is vied by BN candidate Samson Chin Chee Tsu, Jimmy Wong Sze Phai (DAP) and Datuk Kong Hong Ming (PKR). In Apas, Tawau BN chairman Datuk Tawfiq Abu Bakar Titingan is challenged by Ardi Arsa (independent) and Vun Kon Pau (PKR) while Balung is a one-to-one fight between incumbent Datuk Syed Abas Syed Ali n PKR candidate Mohd Abdillah Timbasa.