Tuesday, January 8, 2008


Film producers from UMS win most awards


New talents from across the country came to the fore as their works earned national recognition at the Fifth Malaysian Students' Film and Video Festival gala awards night on Sunday.
The night belonged to the new generation of upcoming film producers who earned a measure of respect from the nation's film industry big-wigs during the awards night, which was the finale of the nine-day festival hosted by Universiti Malaysia Sabah (UMS).
Most of the accolades went to Akademi Seni Budaya dan Warisan Kebangsaan, UMS and Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (Unimas), whose students managed to win three awards each for their work in several film categories.
The academy's hero of the day was Amir Sallehuddin Ithnin, whose work convinced the five-member jury panel to award him as the festival's Best Director for his work on the Batthosai, which was also voted as the Best Short Film/Feature.
Fathul Rahman Ahmad Ghazali's work on Rumah Degil earned the academy its third award for Best Documentary in the Culture and Heritage category.
Norlaji Hamid meanwhile championed UMS' achievements, directing the film Sabah Tea which won the Best Documentary award in the Development and Environment category.
His film Kelupis also earned a Special Jury Prize, alongside the film Budak Sampah, another entry from UMS directed by Suhiana Mohd Sutki.
Unimas students on the other hand struck true in two categories under Best Documentary, with Ada Apa di Bawah Tanah? by Mohd Zulkarnain Azhar in the Current Issues category and Sarawak Sik Cuak in the Entertainment and Sports category.
Their third award went again to Mohd Zulkarnain, whose entry E-Art swayed the judges to give him the award for Best Experimental Film/Video.
Each award, which was presented in the presence of Head of State and UMS Chancellor Tun Ahmadshah Abdullah, carried a cash prize of RM1,000, trophy and certificate.
During the event, the audience was entertained by various cultural dances and performances by singer-songwriter Ajai, Sabahan Akademi Fantasia starlet Marsha and other local singers.
A total of 208 films from around the country were submitted for the festival and vetted by a five-member jury headed by independent filmmaker U-Wei Shaari. Also on the panel were Professor Dr Naim Ahmad, Professor Madya Dr Asiah Sarji, Dedy M Borhan and Ali Ngasio.
Also present at the gala event were Tourism, Culture and Environment Minister Datuk Masidi Manjun, veteran actor-director Senator Tan Sri Jins Shamsudin and Malaysian Film Development Board (Finas) director-general Mohd Mahydin Mustakim.

5th Malaysian Students Film and Video Festival winners list:

Best Advertisement/Promotional Video
Street Boarding
Kolej Yayasan Melaka
Director: Mohd Zulfandi Ahmad Nawawi

Best Music Video
Faith - 7 Collar T-Shirt
Multimedia University
Director: Mohd Firdaus Anuar

Best Animated Film/Video
Death of Governor
University Multimedia
Director: Nadia

Best Documentary
Culture and Heritage category
Rumah Degil
Akademi Seni Budaya Warisan dan Kebangsaan
Director: Fathul Rahman Ahmad Ghazali

Sabah Tea
Universiti Malaysia Sabah
Director: Norlaji Hamid

Current Issues category
Ada Apa Di Bawah Tanah?
Universiti Malaysia Sarawak
Director: Mohd Zulkarnain Azhar

Entertainment and Sports category
Sarawak Sik Cuak
Universiti Malaysia Sarawak
Director: Chaff Seng Hui

Best Short Film/Feature
Akademi Seni Budaya dan Warisan Kebangsaan
Director: Amin Sallehuddin Ithnin

Best Experimental Film/Video
Universiti Malaysia Sarawak
Director: Mohd Zulkarnain Azhar

Special Jury Prize
Selipar Terbang
Kolej Yayasan Melaka
Director: Syed Hafizul Hadee Syed Ibrahim
Universiti Malaysia Sabah
Director: Norlaji Hamid
Budak Sampah
Universiti Malaysia Sabah
Director: Suhiana Mohd Sutki

Best Director
Amir Sallehuddin Ithnin
Akademi Seni Budaya dan Warisan Kebangsaan